Bishop of San Jose in California
in consultation with the Clergy Personnel Board
announces the following assignments
effective July 1, 2020, unless otherwise provided:

Office of Pastor

Rev. Ritche S. Bueza                      –           Pastor, Holy Spirit Parish, San Jose (concurrent as Director of Vocations and Seminarians)
Rev, Msgr. Francis V. Cilia             –           Pastor, St. Clare Parish, Santa Clara
Rev. Joseph Kim                            –           Pastor, St. John Vianney Parish, San Jose
Rev. Steve Kim                               –           Pastor, St. Leo the Great Parish, San Jose
Rev. Brendan P. McGuire               –           Pastor, St. Simon Parish, Los Altos
Rev. Andrew C. Nguyen                –           Pastor, St. Thomas of Canterbury, San Jose
Rev. Tadeusz Terembula               –           Pastor, St. Anthony Parish, Almaden


Deacon Wilfred Agbayani
Rev. Steven Brown
Rev. Jeronimo Gutierrez
Rev. Robert Hayes                            –           effective May 1, 2020
Rev. Lawrence Hendel
Rev. V. Warwick James
Rev. Enzie Lagattuta

Office of Parochial Vicar

Rev. Jonathan R. Cuarto                 –           Parochial Vicar, St. Clare Parish, Santa Clara
Rev. Andrey Garcia                         –           Parochial Vicar, St. Lucy Parish, Campbell
Rev. John Hoang                              –           Parochial Vicar, St. John Vianney Parish, San Jose
Rev. John Vu Hung                          –           Parochial Vicar, Our Lady of LaVang Parish, San Jose
Rev. John Tran Nguyen, OFM        –           Parochial Vicar, Our Lady of LaVang Parish, San Jose
Rev. Wilbert Eric Piczon                 –           Parochial Vicar, St. Maria Goretti Parish, San Jose
Rev. Pedro Tejeda                            –           Parochial Vicar, Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, San Jose

Assigned as Parish Deacon effective July 1, 2020
To be assigned as Parochial Vicar  upon Ordination on September 7, 2020

Rev. Mr. Angelbert Chikere            –           Parish Deacon, St. Lawrence the Martyr Parish, Santa Clara
Rev. Mr. Robain Lamba                  –           Parish Deacon, St. Nicholas//St. William Parish, Los Altos
Rev. Mr. Joseph Tran                      –           Parish Deacon, Christ the King Parish, San Jose    

Special Assignment

Very Rev. Hao Dinh                         –           Chancellor (concurrent as Vicar General and Pastor (effective April 16, 2020) Church of the Ascension)
Rev. Joseph Benedict                    –           Interim Director, Campus Ministry Newman Center San Jose State University (concurrent as Pastor/Rector of St. Joseph Cathedral Basilica)
Rev. Daniel C. Urcia                        –           Director, Office of Life, Justice and Peace (effective April 16, 2020) Department of Evangelization, Chancery
Rev. Andrew Salapata                      –           Adjunct Priest, Sacramental Minister Our Lady of Peace Parish, Santa Clara
Rev. Samer Alsawalha                     –           Chaplain, Arab-American Catholic Community


Rev. Paul-Cuong Phan                     –           Sabbatical from July 1 – December 31, 2020

Fidei Donum

Rev. David B. Mercer


Rev. Maurice Igboerika                   –           for the Archdiocese of San Francisco
Deacon Jaime Garcia                      –           for the Diocese of Phoenix