His brother Bishops have elected Bishop Robert McElroy from the Diocese of San Diego as the new president of the California Catholic Conference. He succeeds Sacramento Bishop Jaime Soto, who completed two terms as president.

Bishop McElroy, who is currently in Rome representing the United States at the Synod of Bishops for the Pan-Amazon Region, is a native of San Francisco and became an auxiliary bishop of that Archdiocese in July 2010. He was installed as the sixth bishop of San Diego in April 2015. He previously served as vice president of the Conference.

The new vice president is Bishop Kevin Vann of the Diocese of Orange, who previously served as the secretary/treasurer of the Conference.Bishop Vann is on the Board of the Pontifical North American College and is Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Catholic Legal Immigration Network, among other service work.

Bishop Oscar Cantú succeeds him in the role of secretary/treasurer.Bishop Cantú was installed to lead the Diocese of San José in September of 2018. He was transferred to San José after serving as Bishop of Las Cruces, New Mexico.

Officers of the California Catholic Conference serve three-year terms, renewable once. Bishop Jaime Soto, who has presided as president for the past six years, is a native Californian and leader of the Sacramento Diocese since 2008.